April is, indeed, the cruelest month . . .

And:

It's National Poetry Month!

Members: Check out Cat Sith's Challenge: Every Day a Poem - Challenge

That is why you should join Zeugma. We're strong enough to help.

For instructions: How to Join

Prose writers welcome, too! It's all write . . .

Back by popular demand...

Anything (within reason) goes...

Moderators: Gary, riverwriter, Poetry Moderators

User avatar
Nate
Moderator
Posts: 321
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 7:00 pm
Location: Southern California

Back by popular demand...

Postby Nate » Sun Aug 20, 2006 4:31 pm

Get some work out there, guys!! :P
_________________________


2 River View - http://2river.org
3 AM Magazine - http://3ammagazine.com
5_Trope - http://webdelsol.com/5_trope/
13th Warrior Review - http://www.asteriusonline.net/13thWR/
42opus - http://www.42opus.com/

Absinthe Literary Review - http://absinthe-literary-review.com/
Adagio Verse Quarterly - http://www.geocities.com/adagioversequarterly/
Adirondak Review - http://adirondackreview.homestead.com/
The Adroitly Placed Word - http://johnvick.org
AGNI - http://www.bu.edu/agni/
Agnieszka’s Dowry - http://asgp.org/agnieszka.html
Alaska Quarterly Review - http://aqr.uaa.alaska.edu/
Alba: A Journal of Short Poetry - http://www.ravennapress.com/alba/
Alsop Review - http://www.alsopreview.com/
Amarillo Bay - http://www.amarillobay.org/
The Antigonish Review - http://www.antigonishreview.com/
Arbutus - http://www.arbutus.net/
Ascent - http://www.bcsupernet.com/users/ascent/
Asheville Poetry Review - http://www.ashevillereview.com/
Atlantic Unbound Poetry Page - http://www.theatlantic.com/unbound/poetry/poetpage.htm

Beloit Poetry Journal - http://www.bpj.org/
Big Bridge - http://www.bigbridge.org/
BigCityLit - http://www.nycBigCityLit.com/default.htm
Blackbird Poetry Review - http://www.blackbird.vcu.edu/
Blaze: A Quarterly Literary Zine - http://www.sundress.net/blaze/
BlazeVOX - http://www.blazevox.org/
Blue Fifth Review - http://www.angelfire.com/zine/bluefifth/index.html
Blue Moon Review - http://www.thebluemoon.com/
Boston Review - http://www.bostonreview.net/
Branches Quarterly - http://www.branchesquarterly.com/index.html
Brevity - http://www.creativenonfiction.org/brevity/index.htm
Burning Word Magazine - http://www.burningword.com/

The Cafe Irreal - http://home.sprynet.com/~awhit/
Caffeine Destiny - http://www.caffeinedestiny.com/
Can We Have Our Ball Back? - http://canwehaveourballback.com/newindex.htm
The Carolina Quarterly Online - http://www.unc.edu/depts/cqonline/
Carve Magazine - http://www.carvezine.com/
Cherry Bleeds - http://www.cherrybleeds.com/
Chick Flicks Ezine - http://chickflicksezine.com
Clean Sheets - http://www.cleansheets.com/
Coelacanth Magazine Online - http://www.coelacanthmagazine.com/
The Cortland Review - http://www.cortlandreview.com/

Danforth Review - http://www.danforthreview.com/
The Dead Mule - http://www.deadmule.com/content/
Diagram - http://www.webdelsol.com/DIAGRAM/
Dicey Brown - http://www.diceybrown.com/
DMQ Review - http://www.disquietingmuses.com/
Double Dare Press - http://www.doubledarepress.com/
Drunken Boat - http://www.drunkenboat.com/
Ducts - http://www.ducts.org/
DUFUS - http://www.geocities.com/lumoxraindog/index.html

Eclectica Magazine - http://www.eclectica.org
Elimae - http://www.elimae.com/
Erosha - http://erosha.net
Events Quarterly - http://www.eventsquarterly.com/
Evergreen Review - http://www.evergreenreview.com/
Exquisite Corpse - http://www.corpse.org/

failbetter.com - http://www.failbetter.com/
Facets Magazine - http://facets-magazine.com/
Fiction Warehouse - http://www.fictionwarehouse.com/
The Fifth Street Review - http://www.fifthstreetreview.com
Five Fingers Review - http://www.fivefingersreview.org/
Flashquake - http://flashquake.org/
Frank - http://www.readfrank.com/browse/index.php
Frigg - http://www.friggmagazine.com/

The Georgia Review - http://www.uga.edu/garev/
Ghoti Magazine - http://www.ghotimag.com/
Gin Bender Poetry Review - http://www.ginbender.com/
Glimmer Train Press - http://www.glimmertrain.com/
God Particle - http://www.thegodparticle.com/
Grain - http://www.grainmagazine.ca/
Green Tricycle - http://greentricycle.com/
Gumball Poetry - http://gumballpoetry.com/

Half Drunk Muse - http://halfdrunkmuse.com
HeavyGlow - http://heavyglow.net
Hiss Quarterly - http://www.hissquarterly.com/


Identity Theory - http://www.identitytheory.com/
Indiana Review - http://www.indiana.edu/~inreview
In Posse - http://webdelsol.com/InPosse/
Inspirational Woman.com - http://inspirationalwoman.com/

Jacket - http://jacketmagazine.com/
JMWW - http://jmww.150m.com
Kaleidowhirl - http://home.alltel.net/ellablue/index.html
ken*again - http://kenagain.freeservers.com/

Laura Hird - http://laurahird.com
Lily - http://freewebs.com/lilylitreview/

L’ Intrigue, the Wild Magnolia of Literature - http://www.lintrigue.org/
Liquid Muse - http://www.angelfire.com/poetry/liquidmuse/
Locust Magazine - http://www.locustmagazine.com/
Lummox Press - http://www.lummoxpress.com/

Mad Hatter's Review - http://www.madhattersreview.com/
McSweeney's - http://www.mcsweeneys.net/
Megaera - http://megaera.org/

MindFire - http://www.mindfirerenew.com/
MiPoesias Magazine - http://www.mipoesias.com/
Mississippi Review - http://www.mississippireview.com/
Missouri Review - http://www.missourireview.org/
Moonwort Review - http://www.themoonwortreview.com/
Moria - http://www.moriapoetry.com/
Mudlark - http://www.unf.edu/mudlark/
Muse Apprentice Guild - http://www.muse-apprentice-guild.com/

Nantahala - http://nantahalareview.org/
Octavo - http://www.alsopreview.com/octavo/about.htm
offcourse - http://www.albany.edu/offcourse/

Painted Bride Quarterly - http://webdelsol.com/pbq/

Paris Review - http://www.parisreview.com/
Paumanok Review - http://paumanokreview.com

Pebble Lake Review - http://pebblelakereview.com/
Pedestal Magazine - http://thepedestalmagazine.com
Perigree Publication for the Arts - http://www.perigee-art.com/
Pif Magazine - http://www.pifmagazine.com/
Pindeldyboz - http://www.pindeldyboz.com/
Pittsburgh Quarterly - http://trfn.clpgh.org/tpq/
Ploughshares - http://www.pshares.org/
Poems Niederngasse - http://www.niederngasse.com/
poeticdiversity - http://www.poeticdiversity.org/main/index.php
Poetry Bay - http://www.poetrybay.com/
PoetryMagazine.com - http://www.poetrymagazine.com/
Poetry Super Highway - http://poetrysuperhighway.com
Poet’s Canvas - http://www.poetscanvas.org/
Prairie Poetry - http://www.prairiepoetry.com/main.html

Rattle - http://www.rattle.com/index.htm
Red River Review - http://www.redriverreview.com/
Rock Salt Plum Poetry Review - http://www.rocksaltplum.com/
Rose & Thorn - http://theroseandthornezine.com

Salt River Review - http://www.poetserv.org/
Scrivener’s Pen Literary Journal Inc. - http://scrivenerspen.org/
Scorched Earth Publishing - http://www.scorchedearthpublishing.com

Seque - http://www.mid.muohio.edu/segue/
Shampoo - http://www.shampoopoetry.com/
Shenandoah - http://shenandoah.wlu.edu/
SideReality - http://www.sidereality.com/
Skyline Literary Magazine - http://www.skylinemagazines.com/
Slow Trains Literary Journal - http://www.slowtrains.com/
Small Spiral Notebook - http://www.smallspiralnotebook.com/
Smokelong Quarterly - http://www.smokelong.com/cover.asp
Snakeskin - http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~simmers/
Softblow Poetry Journal - http://softblow.com
Spinning Jenny - http://www.blackdresspress.com/
Stickman Review - http://stickmanreview.com
Stirring: A Literary Collection - http://sundress.net/stirring
storySouth - http://www.storysouth.com/
Subterranean Quarterly - http://www.subterraneanquarterly.com/
SubtleTea - http://www.subtletea.com/

Tamafyhr Mountain Poetry - http://www.tmpoetry.com/
Tarpaulin Sky - http://www.tarpaulinsky.com/
Tattoo Highway - http://www.tattoohighway.org/
three candles - http://www.threecandles.org/

Tilt - http://rachelmallino.org/tilt
Triplopia - http://www.triplopia.org/
Tryst - http://tryst3.com
Typo Magazine - http://www.typomag.com

Underground Voices - http://www.undergroundvoices.com
Unlikely Stories - http://www.unlikelystories.org/

Valparaiso Poetry Review - http://www.valpo.edu/english/vpr/
Verse Libre - http://vlqpoetry.com/
Vestal Review - http://www.vestalreview.net/

Web Del Sol - http://www.webdelsol.com/
whimperbang - http://www.whimperbang.com/
Whispering Spirits Ezine - http://clikto.whisperingspirits
Wicked Alice - http://sundress.net/wickedalice
Word Riot - http://www.wordriot.org/

Ygdrasil - http://www.synapse.net/kgerken/

Zafusy - http://www.zafusy.com
Zeotrope All-Story - http://www.all-story.com/

Eliza
Pantoum Pounder
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 12:02 am
Location: San Diego, California

Publishing--Questions

Postby Eliza » Wed Feb 20, 2008 10:40 am

Nate,
Thanks so very much for your post! Can you--or anyone--offer any advice on targeting publications? What's the key to getting published? If the key is finding journals whose poetry seems to share some aspect stylistically with my own, then what do you do when you can't get access to the journal's poetry without subscribing?



Thanks,
Eliza

User avatar
sdunford
Vicar of Villanelles
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 12:22 am
Location: Logan, UT

publishing

Postby sdunford » Thu Mar 13, 2008 12:03 am

Eliza,
A really great resource is the Poet's Market. It contains descriptions of all kinds of publishers and their advice on how to be published. Some mags actually require the contributor to subscribe before the poem will be published. Some mags have a website where you can get a general feeling for the style, content and other parameters of lit they accept. The book also has excellent articles on the craft.

One other thing... the moderators in this site really know their stuff. No; they did not pay me to say this. :)


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests